In the Flesh Appearing: Anderson Cooper Live; Denver, Colorado; Philly Represent

Three weeks ago at exactly this time, I was wandering around midtown Manhattan with a garment bag of fancy clothes, two pairs of shoes, and an air of frenzy about me. I was trying to get into the CBS building for a taping and the door was locked.

I eventually got in (one of the people sent downstairs to look for me sighed into her headset, “Call off the search, we found her!”), and the result is this clip, which aired on October 16th in honor of National (US) Dictionary Day. Sorry to have once again invaded your televisions with my unnaturally colored hair and my nervous doofus-chortling. You can watch the clip here: http://www.andersoncooper.com/2012/10/16/adorkable/

In a few short weeks, I will be in Denver, CO (birthplace of the Broncos, Casa Bonita, not John Denver, and me), where I will stand up in front of the very fine teachers of Colorado TESOL and tell them all about the history of the English language. If you’re an ESL/EFL teacher in Colorado, come to the Saturday morning plenary for Old English and LOLcats! I promise to be adequately caffeinated.

The following week, I’ll be in Philadelphia, PA (home of the Flyers, Monk’s Belgian Pub, and Kabletown), where I will stand charmingly at the Merriam-Webster booth for ACTFL and embarrass myself in any number of languages. If you’re there, stop by. Hair color TBA.

 

9 Comments

Filed under in the flesh appearing

9 responses to “In the Flesh Appearing: Anderson Cooper Live; Denver, Colorado; Philly Represent

  1. javaj240

    That was great. I actually really like adorkable. And I love the hair!

  2. I loved it! That’s where you belong. Regular segments on AC.

  3. I’m sending the link to my hairdresser so she can give me your fabulicious color at my next appointment.

  4. Looked great. And very Freefall from Gen 13 of you.

  5. Well done! Love the hair! So how much will power did it take not to say “Well, Anderson, ‘ye olde’ is actually *two* words, both of which are obsolete forms of words that aren’t going anywhere, and, also, it’s not pronounced ‘oldy’”?

  6. Thank you for showing the video of yourself. It deepens my blogging experience. You are pretty and spoke very well to Anderson, so I’m still amazed that you work in the great hall of silence.
    I love words. I love using them in odd ways and especially making fun of them. They are great aren’t they?

  7. Joe

    I too like “adorkable” — very topical in this case.

  8. Growing up about 60 miles from Roswell, and during John Denver’s heyday, I was well aware that he was from Roswell, not Denver. (Also, Nancy Lopez. And, um, … ? This was actually slightly before the alien stuff got big, so I can’t even really add any little gray men with big eyes to the list.)

    This always annoyed me, actually, because the story was that he fell in love with the Colorado mountains so strongly that he took on “Denver” as his surname. But northern New Mexico has similarly beautiful mountains, with some additional character all its own. “What was Denver’s problem?”, I wondered, given my faithful New Mexican heart.

    The thing is, though, that in the eastern part of the state, where I grew up but wasn’t born, the people there are really Texans, not New Mexicans. I mean, culturally, truly they mostly come from Texan stock. I was the only person I knew in my school with family in Albuquerque — everyone else had family in Texas. Perhaps more to the point, for these white farmers and ranchers, central and northern New Mexico was uncomfortably non-white. But Colorado? Much more white.

    And, you know, Denver-the-city seems to match Denver-the-singer much better than, say, Santa Fe or Taos. There’s a funky earthiness (literally, really, with the adobe) about these higher-than-a-mile towns (Albuquerque and Denver are both about a mile in elevation; Santa Fe and Taos are both somewhat higher); while, in contrast, what Denver has always wanted to be was some combination of snow-capped mountain-airiness and steel skyscraper-modernity. A kind of “America The Beautiful” heartland image of rosy-cheeked bland American aspiration, which I think John Denver embodied well. Roswell, in fact, during his time was a dying town, suffering a near-fatal loss of the major military base. All things considered, it’s no surprise that his self-identity formed around something farther away, but still relatively near, and so terribly, essentially inoffensive.

  9. Susie

    I LOVE the reference to Kabletown!

Leave a Reply

