Book News, Kory News, And No Political News Whatsoever

Seven days.

We live our lives from milestone to milestone, and sometimes we hold an upcoming milestone in our hands like a lucky penny, where we can rub our thumbs over it again and again, in secret joy. Seven days!

My debut book, Word by Word, will be out in the real world in seven days.

Most of you know this, because you have suffered through countless non-dictionary blog posts about it, but for those of you who don’t know, I’ve set up a blog page about the book, and I’ve updated my travel page so you can find out where I’ll be reading and plan a road trip to ask me why I am single-handedly destroying the English language. If you want up-to-date information on where I’ll be and which stores I have visited and left secretly vandalized signed copies of my book, sign up for my newsletter, which shows up in your inbox with blessed infrequency.

In order to accommodate a book tour (!!!), I’ve taken a short leave of absence from Merriam-Webster, which means there will be a paucity of “Answers I Wish I Could Send” posts until June. But the extra time means I can finally finish the dozen-odd draft blog posts that have been sitting here since 2015, which is when this book jawn began.

Careful readers will note that I said “debut book,” and not just “book,” and that’s because I’m working on a second nonfiction book, which will be published in a few years (Lord willin’ and the crick don’t rise). Yes, that’s right: the first one didn’t kill me, so I’m willing to try again.

None of this would have been possible had it not been for you, my original cadre of word nerds, who carved time out of their day to read (and sometimes heckle, Kevin) over-long posts here. Y’all are the best, and I hope I get to meet you and sign your book.

Stay tuned for actual content! And thank you.

13 Comments

Filed under book, general, in the flesh appearing

13 responses to “Book News, Kory News, And No Political News Whatsoever

  1. Looking forward to having a copy of the book in my hands! Congratulations!

  2. I’m sure you’ve already said this somewhere, but will you be heading out west at some point? I bet there are a lot of people in the Linguistics and English Language Department at BYU who’d love to hear you speak.

    • Kory Stamper

      I’m hoping to get further out west later this summer or fall, and if I can finagle that, BYU will deffers be on the speaking list!

      • Fernando

        “Further” is used in the figurative sense. Moreover; in addition; to a greater extent.

        “Farther” refers to physical distance only.
        E.g., you can further, (advance) a project, but you can’t farther a project

        • Kory Stamper

          Oh my goodness: are you trying to grammar-shame me? Oh dear. No one told you I have no shame.

          My use of “further” is fine. See the usage paragraph here: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/further

          • Fernando

            Thanks for the response. The link you submitted says, ” But where there is no notion of distance, further is used (our techniques can be further refined). Further is also used as a sentence modifier (further, the workshop participants were scarcely optimistic — L. B. Mayhew), but farther is not. A polarizing process appears to be taking place in their adjective use. Farther is taking over the meaning of distance (the farther shore) and further the meaning of addition (needed no further invitation).”

            Your usage of “further” was for distance; I think “farther” would have been more appropriate.

  3. Jim Shea

    Hi Kory,

    I’m sure you have thought of this, but I’ll add my 2 cents. It might be interesting thought for your 2nd book (or perhaps a chapter or two) to cover some of the bizarre comments and suggestions for improvement you guys receive at Merriam. I worked on Federal St. from 1971 to 1979 (specializing in the physical sciences) and we received many strange ideas for improving our dictionaries. My personal favorite was from an amateur scientist/cartographer who asked that, some place in the Collegiate (site unspecified), we include the fact:

    “The shortest distance between any two points on the earth’s surface is a straight line through Winnipeg.”

    He swore that it was a tested and indisputable truism. I thanked him for sharing the information but could never find the proper home for it.

    Jim Shea

  4. Y

    Is that the Century Dictionary (my favorite old dictionary) in the background on the cover?

  5. Hery Kory…good luck with the book tour!
    You used one of my favorite phrases: “Lord willin’ and the crick don’t rise.” But is it about a body of water, or a bunch of Indians? I took a crack at it in my own word blog some time back. http://thewordwideweb.tumblr.com/post/104759596149/lord-willing-and-the-creek-dont-rise

Leave a Reply

