A Special Announcement

O dear and long-suffering readers, I am happy to announce that I finally have an editor.

Sadly, he will not be editing the drivel that appears here; he will only be editing my book.

Merriam-Webster lexicographer & blogger Kory Stamper’s HARMLESS DRUDGERY: How We Define The Words That Define Us, a look inside a lexicographer’s world as we follow the journey words take on their way both in and out of the dictionary, to Andrew Miller at Pantheon….

Yes: I’m writing a book! It’ll be written in the style of harm•less drudg•ery, and it will definitely contain fewer typos. This book has been in the works for a long while now, but the fact that it has left the realm of possibility and moved into, if not immediate reality, then a few blocks down from immediate reality, is pretty damned exciting and surreal. Forgive me if I am gobsmacked. The smack will eventually wear off my gob, I promise.

Don’t fret: I will do my best to keep up the rigorous (<snort>) publishing schedule here at harm•less drudg•ery. After all, those delightful pieces of correspondence are not going to post themselves to this blog. You can also occasionally catch me at Strong Language, a blog that sings my heart’s filthy, degenerate song.

Wish me luck, and send your condolences directly to my editor.

 

31 Comments

Filed under general, in the flesh appearing, Uncategorized

31 responses to “A Special Announcement

  1. Congratulations! I’ve been hoping to read a book by you one day.

  2. Rebecca Shapiro

    Greetings from the DSNA! We look forward to the book and all future blog postings May we post a link on the DSNA blog?

  3. Hearty congratulations!
    (In spite of the title’s more than fair warning, clicking the Strong Language link was a real smack in the gob;-)

  4. Woohoo! I can’t wait! Any idea when it will be released? No pressure or anything. I’m just excited.

    Also, congratulations &c.

  5. I look forward to reading it!

  6. grammargeddonangel

    WOOHOO! I shared the great news on G+, where I spend an inordinate amount of time not working. I AM TEH EXCITE (as they say in the vernacular)!

  7. Congrats and best wishes – I look forward to seeing the end result!

  8. yeh, good luck a good editor is worth more than gold.

  9. Congrats! Looking forward to reading it.

  10. hankgillette

    Congratulations! If it’s even close to being as interesting as your posts here, I look forward to reading it. Will any of your previous posts here be part of the book?

  11. Congratulations! Looking forward to it.

  12. Congratulations. I always enjoy reading your blog and will look forward to the book.

  13. Congratulations! I hope you keep us all up-to-date on the process. Looking forward to reading it.

  14. Have already added the book to my birthday/Christmas/next birthday list!

  15. Yay! But how are you going to decide which words to use, since you KNOW THEM ALL?! P.S. If your editor doesn’t work out, I’ll do it! Or I’d be just as happy to proofread it.

  16. Wonderful. This is one of my favourite stops on WordPress. Congratulations.

  17. Excellent! Please make sure Chicago is on your book tour!

  18. Scot Hanson

    One small step forward for a single editor. One giant leap for everyone of us who enjoys your wit and etymological insight. 🙂

  19. Pingback: Book News, Kory News, And No Political News Whatsoever | harm·less drudg·ery

Leave a comment